The Internet Doctor

As soon as I was settled, I got onto Facebook to message my friends as they all have had pregnancies, some miscarriages and all some kind of knowledge ‘of that kind of stuff’ that I hoped I would learn of what this mysterious blood clot inconvenience was.

Hey girls – something strange happened to me and with no doctor to go to, I was wondering if you have ever had this or know of anyone who did…. I just had sex and I bled all over!! How awful….I ran to bathroom bleeding along the way, jumped in the shower, still bleeding, then clumps of blood just came out of me….the online doctor advice has loads of ideas but thought maybe any of you might know something???

Friend M: Hey huni, firstly don’t panic! Happened to me but my body is f*%(@d up in that department! I would bleed now and again too…have u done a pregnancy test just incase? Xx

Friend C: Try a test first to rule it out . Dont look online cause its full of sh*^e and sweetie mice!

Friend A: When I had my miscarriages it was very painful cramps & thick stringy blood & clots, not like runny blood

Friend C: It also could be fibroids. It causes clots and lumps.

Friend A: Are there no pharmacies open today? What is the time difference? Where r u? I would def get checked asap just incase as you don’t know what is going on inside & you could be bleeding internally & not know it.. Better safe than sorry, keep us updated xx

Me:  I’m in Bangkok for few days then Cambodia for 4 days, not back in the UK until Jan 16th, 3 weeks away, but then I’m only home for 9 days then I head to USA for six weeks. 

So once I got back to the UK, I managed to get a cancellation appointment for my Smear test. Gosh I wish I had kept the last appointment. I had cancelled it as I was preparing to go work on a cruise ship and needed to get organised and pack. For all of 15 min run up to the doctor, I wish I hadn’t skipped that smear test!

The smear test went as I thought. Blood everywhere. She couldn’t get a reading so she sent an email to get an emergency gynae appointment to do the smear. This emergency test appointment was perhaps a month away, with hopefully an opening any day in between. So, I followed my travel plans for Mardi Gras in New Orleans, Skiing in Keystone Colorado and my first American style Easter Egg Hunt…totally oblivious of what was to come thinking I would only be away for 6 weeks, 2 weeks after the appointment. If need be, I could fly back early.

IMG_7698.2 copy

Leave a comment